topofthebeacon-67_edited.jpg

Hello, I'm Jess

Age: 25

From: Hampshire

Location: Devon

Occupation: Yacht Crew

Luxury Item Onboard: Red wine & dark chocolate

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • Instagram

My Story

How did you join the team?

Jemima and I met working on a sailing yacht one summer. We made the most out of each day, going for sunrise paddleboard missions before work and exploring historical towns in Corsica and Sardinia by night. I saw a post on social media that Jemima had a page set up for a group doing the Atlantic Challenge and I contacted her immediately, asking if the team may need more crew! I’ve wanted to do the row for so long and am beyond excited and grateful to be a part of such a big challenge with an incredible team of girls.

 

What are you driven by?

I’ve always been eager to try new things and take part in new challenges. I'm also very competitive!

 

Where did you grow up?

I grew up in the Hampshire countryside, although, my father also lived abroad a lot of the time which gave me the opportunity to travel and explore new places from a young age. After leaving full-time education I have spent most of my time travelling and working abroad, experiencing new cultures. 

 

What do you do for work?

After leaving University at Oxford Brookes and working as a chalet host in the French Alps, I went on to join the luxury yacht industry to fulfill my passion for adventure and travel. I completed my Yacht-Master 200 GT in Florida in 2016, and have since worked on sailing and motor yachts all over the globe. My job has taken me from the east coast of America and Canada to the Mediterranean, but I have most enjoyed my time in Antigua which I've had the pleasure of visiting before. I can’t wait to arrive in the English Harbour after our crossing, and will hopefully see some friendly faces! 

 

What do you bring to the team?

I have lots of practical experience to bring to the team, having worked at sea for the past few years. The day-to-day workings, maintenance, and upkeep of a boat is my job. With lots of sea time and watchkeeping under my belt, I'm confident that even in the toughest conditions I would still have a smile on my face!

 

Connection with the sea and adventure:

From a young age, I learnt to sail and windsurf with most of our family holidays being spent either by the sea doing watersports or camping in the rain in the mountains of North Wales. I’ve always loved the outdoors and will take any opportunity to be in the water, no matter how cold it may be! 

Other challenges previously participated in:

  • Climbed Mount Kenya

  • Master of Yachts 200GT

  • Sailed Transatlantic from Antigua to the Azores

  • Walked and wild camped England’s South West Coast path, 630 miles from Minehead in Somerset to Poole Harbour in Dorset